Pat McGrath Labs – LUST: MatteTrance

 

20170728_181440.jpg Pat McGrath is arguably the most respected makeup artist in the industry.  Her cosmetic line, Pat McGrath Labs, has periodic releases that SELL OUT FAST!  I’ve wanted to get my hands on some of her products for quite sometime; so I signed up for pre-sale access to her latest launches.  I was finally able to get my hands on a LUST: MatteTrance lipstick. And I have to say, I’m pretty impressed so far. 😍❤

Pat McGrath Labs is known for its distinctive, gold, sequins-filled packaging.  It’s so fun to look at, you almost don’t want to open the package! Almost… 😉 In taking pics, I tried my best not to get the sequins all over the place! Lol.

Image1

Within the main package, is a 2nd golden package that actually contains the lipstick. 🙂

Image2

 The lipestick itself has sleek packaging with golden lips on the tube. 😘

20170728_181440

20170728_181527.jpg

I purchased the shade Omi, after seeing it on Naomi Campbell. Lol.  I figured if it worked for her complexion, it would probably work on me too, since I think we have similar skin tones. 🙂  Omi is described as a “mid-tone rose.”  I gravitate towards natural/nude shades, so this was a no-brainer.  😛 At $38 USD each, I reasoned that I’d see how I liked the formula before purchasing additional lipsticks.

Image3

Image4

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’m not always crazy about matte lipsticks because of their tendency to be drying.  My first thoughts on LUST: MatteTrance though are that it’s incredibly lightweight and creamy! ❤

Swatches in natural lighting and flash are shown below.

Image5
Swatches of Pat McGrath Labs LUST: MatteTrance in Omi

A lip swatch is shown below.

Image6

Urban Decay Vice Lipstick in Comfort Matte is one of my favorite matte lipsticks; and is the standard by which I judge other matte lippies.  In comparsion to UD, the Pat McGrath formula is smoother, almost liquid-y; while the UD formula feels somewhat heavier and maybe waxier.  I’m not sure which I prefer yet.  They both have their pros.  I think the UD formula may be somewhat longer wearing, while the Pat McGrath formula is less noticeable on the lips.  I like them both. 🙂

A side-by-side comparison of Omi and UD’s Hitch Hike are shown below.

Image7
Side-by-side comparison of Urban Decay Hitch Hike (top) and Pat McGrath Labs Omi (bottom)

So, overall, I really like the LUST: MatteTrance formula and the shade Omi, in particular.  The entire line is now sold out on Pat McGrath’s website, but launches today on Sephora.  LUST: MatteTrance lipsticks are available as singles, trios, or the entire collection.

Good luck getting your hands on one! 😄And Happy National Lipstick Day! 😘

Leave a Reply

