Kokie Cosmetics – Drugstore Discovery

 

The other day, while running errands, I came across a new makeup brand at Walmart.  I did a bit of research and discovered that Kokie Professional is a German brand.  It’s not available online on Walmart’s website, but you can preview the products available for purchase in store, here.  Items range in price from $5 (nail polish) to $16 (contour palette) online, but prices may vary by store.  I thought the black and white striped packaging was super cute! So obviously, I had to grab a few items to try. 😉  The only downside about the packaging that I noticed was that the stripes obstruct your view of the shades within the eyeshadow palettes.  I opted not to purchase any of those (for now 😜).

20170503_194638I purchased a light blue nail polish in a shade called “Wondrous” ($4.98), a matte lipstick in a shade called “Paris” ($5.98); a matte liquid lipstick in a shade called “Sublime” ($5.98); and a lip gloss in a shade called “Standout” ($5.98).  🙂

If you’d like to purchase Kokie products online, most of the products mentioned in this post are available on their website (the Lip Veneer does not appear to be available online).

PhotoGrid_1493857983051
Left to Right: Wondrous nail polish, Paris matte lipstick, Infamous liquid lipstick, and Standout lip gloss

I haven’t used the nail polish yet but wanted to give a close-up shot of the shade I purchased.  It’s a pretty, periwinkle blue; and, at first glance, it seems pretty opaque.  I anticipate only needing 2 coats for this one. 😍

PhotoGrid_1493858064655
Kokie Professional Nail Polish in Wondrous

Swatches of the lippies are shown below in natural and LED lighting.

PhotoGrid_1493858542368
Kokie Professional lippies from bottom to top: Lip Veneer in Standout; Matte Lipstick in Paris; and Liquid Lipstick in Infamous

I was super impressed with the lippies! 😲💃 The quality of all 3 formulas was really impressive, especially for such reasonable prices.

Lip swatches are below.  Pardon my bathrobe! LOL!

PhotoGrid_1493855760775
Kokie Professional Lip Veneer in Standout

The Lip Veneer lip gloss was my favorite of the 3 lip products I purchased.  The formula is thick and very pigmented.  The texture is creamy and smooth.  It reminded me a lot of NYX Butter Gloss, which I love. 😀

PhotoGrid_1493855787200
Kokie Professional Liquid Lipstick in Infamous

I also really loved the Liquid Lipstick, which is supposed to be a matte formula.  I’d compare it to Colourpop Ultra Satin or Too Faced Melted Liquid Lipsticks.  It had more of a satin finish than a true matte formula.  Infamous is super pigmented and creamy.  Unlike other liquid lipsticks that I’ve tried, I didn’t find it drying at all. 🙂

PhotoGrid_1493855817868
Kokie Professional Matte Lipstick in Paris

The Matte Lipstick had a buildable formula that felt really unique.  It was somewhat waxy upon application, but upon warming on the lip, it took on a really velvety, smooth texture.   The pigmentation on this one was great too.  Having just purchased a couple of the new Colourpop Blotted Lip lippies, I’d say that the two formulas are similar. (Stay tuned for my next Colourpop review! 😉 )

Again, I am super impressed with these drugstore products.  If you see them in your local store, I’d definitely recommend trying a few.  I’ll be grabbing a few more of these the next time I’m at Walmart! 😀  ❤

Leave a Reply

