Wet ‘n Wild Catsuit Matte Liquid Lipstick

20170205_083812

I can’t resist drugstore beauty deals! So when I stopped in Walgreen’s last week and saw the new Megalast Liquid Catsuit Matte Lipsticks by Wet n Wild I decided to grab a couple.  They retail for $4.99.

I purchased shades 925B Give Me Mocha and 927B Nice to Fuchsia. Swatches of all 13 shades are available on Wet n Wild’s website.  My personal swatches are below.

20170205_084014

Wet n Wild’s website describes Catsuit Lipsticks as follows:

  • Glides on glossy and transforms into high – pigmented matte finish.
  • Lightweight formula made with serious staying power.
  • Intense pigmentation without drying the lips

I’d definitely agree with the first two points.  These do go on creamy and glossy; but they definitely dry  to a flat, dry finish.  I found the formula to be too drying, actually.  While it didn’t budge most of the day – except some wear-off after eating – it became uncomfortable for me.  As I mentioned in my last post, I tend to gravitate towards creamy lipsticks; and am not crazy about really dry mattes.  So I’m not sure these will get a ton of wear for me.  But I’ll continue to experiment with them to see if I can find a way to prep my lips to make them more comfortable because the pigmentation and lasting power of these shouldn’t be dismissed.

20170205_085609
Left to right: 925B Give Me Mocha and 927B Nice to Fuchsia

 

My bottom line for these is that if you’re a fan of very dry mattes and are accustomed to wearing them, these are a great deal – an inexpensive alternative to some of the prestige brands.  They definitely have staying power; and the colors are lovely and pigmented.  But if you’re like me and prefer a more moisturizing matte, you may want to try Colourpop’s Ultra Satin formula (mentioned in my Colourpop Haul post) or Urban Decay’s Vice Lipstick Comfort Matte formula (which are my favorite mattes). 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

